Honoring Musicians No Matter the Circumstance

Image

Stories of atrocities are so commonplace now in the daily news that we become desensitized to them.  The recent rash of violence in the African country of Mali has dominated the world news, even as French troops appeared on the scene to attempt to restore order.  While the tragedy on the human scale is shocking, the affront on art, literature and free expression also takes its toll on the human psyche.

Like many, I was appalled to hear stories of the burning of historic manuscripts, artwork and cracking down on artistic expression of all kinds.  Unfortunately, this is echoed in fundamentalist regimes across the globe.  And while this concept is rooted in the misguided beliefs of the perpetrators, the toll is more than local.  It most certainly is also an attack on the heritage of an entire civilization and the legacy of human history.

I value artifacts and materials from all cultures.  Indeed, they have the potential to teach me something about myself, even when the culture is completely foreign.  I learn something every time I encounter a folk tale, religious text, or work of art.  And as a musician, I have the unique opportunity and responsibility to foster the preservation of our heritage.

This is why I was very happy to hear of an organization that celebrates the freedom of musical expression and fights censorship of music around the world.  They have given their annual award to the Festival au Désert’ in Mali. According to today’s press release:

“The Freemuse Award 2013 is given to ‘Festival au Désert’, which in spite of extreme Islamists’ attempts to silence all music in Mali, defends freedom of musical expression and struggles to continue keeping music alive in the region”, says Marie Korpe, Executive Director, Freemuse.

Here is more information on the award and Freemuse:

http://www.freemuse.org/sw49734.asp

Organizations such as this make me proud to be a musician, and I add my congratulations to Manny Ansar and the Festival au Désert’.   And to my brother and sister performers in Mali and around the world, I offer the words of Schiller, via Beethoven:

Let us raise our voices in more pleasing and more joyful sounds! Joy! Joy!

Copyright 2013. Robert Baldwin. Before the Downbeat

Photo from Freemuse Website: http://www.freemuse.org/sw305.asp

4 thoughts on “Honoring Musicians No Matter the Circumstance

  1. The recent events in Mali are just devastating. It’s so good to read of this Festival, and to have found so many postings on YouTube of related music and interviews. I’ll have to find a way to share this – I wasn’t aware of it, and I know most of my readers won’t be.

    Didn’t someone say something about there being more in heaven and earth, than ever we dream of?

  2. First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in
    which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Thanks!

    • Thanks for your comment and question. For me, walking is my clearing activity. I am reminded of the great tradition of taking walks with colleagues, often spending all afternoon waling through fields and woods. I’ve tried lots of other things (meditation, etc.) but walking does it for me.

Leave a Reply

