Off the Podium Playlist

As a conductor, listening is an important component of what I do. Interestingly, I am often asked what I listen to for pleasure. I’m not sure why what I listen to should be considered more interesting or important than others. Certainly it is not. For the curious though, here is my playlist from the past month or so of non work-related listening.

1. J.S. Bach: Christmas Oratorio. (Dresden Kreutzchor); Musical Offering (Concertante of London); Art of the Fugue (Emerson Qtet) ; 6 Suites (Callas, viola).
2. Tin Hat/Tin Hat Trio–every album I could find. AMAZING stuff!
3. Spock’s Beard: Octane; X
4. Yo -Yo Ma and Silk Road Ensemble: Journeys; Enchantment
5. Paul Simon: Graceland
6. David Bowie: The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
7. Frank Sinatra: Sinatra’s Swingin’ Session
8. Lou Harrison: In Memory; The Music of Lou Harrison; Gamelan Music; Lou Harrison for Strings.

Eclectic, huh? So, what are YOU listening to for pleasure?

8 thoughts on “Off the Podium Playlist

  1. This is such an interesting, and, as you say, eclectic list, and deserves an answer to your question in return. Lately, I’ve been listening to a lot of John Adams, also Esa-Pekka Salonen (whose work I didn’t know at all). And now, as I periodically do, to refresh my ears, I’m listening to Bach (oh he the timeless one), in this case the Cello Suites. Lou Harrison, by the way, is another I go to particularly when I need to refresh my ears (if that phrase makes the least sense).

  2. Book bloggers always are comparing notes, asking one another, “What are you reading? What did you like? What’s disappointed you?” I think it’s partly curiosity and partly a desire to share what they’ve enjoyed. Those same dynamics certainly come into play when my friends and I talk about music.

    In any event, it’s time to put away summer selections and move on to what I call “open window music” – the sort that goes well with autumn evenings, cool breezes and a nice wine. My current favorites: Django Reinhardt and Stéphane Grappelli. Eric Clapton and JJ Cale. Gordon Bok. Ian Tyson. Sting and Cheb Mami. Edith Piaf. Nana Mouskouri. Buena Vista Social Club. Paul Simon & Miriam Makeba in South Africa. Marisol. Pink Martini.

    What a nice list! I believe I’ll have some music!

      • BTW, I played a concert with Pink Martini a few years back. I love their creative take and imaginative presentation of new songs and old standards. Their version of “Que Sera, Sera” is an all time favorite of mine.

  3. Yes – Pink Martini. High on my list of non-classical stuff to listen to. Two more weeks – a self-imposed time-line for turning on the Christmas music – then I can pull out their Christmas album. Some real gems on there.

Leave a Reply

